RSS

a quick post on mulatto

30 Jan

(A note a little too late: I wrote this for the sake of information, as to why I’m comfortable using the term.  It’s just for information’s sake, nothing else.  I had no idea the term has been twisted, since D is comfortable with it and hadn’t said anything about it.  I’m thankful that someone had the courage to say something aobut it, in a  respectful, way so I now know that in some areas [more than even D realized] Mulatto is used/seen as offensive.)

Mulatto was actually used in the census until the 1930’s when some people started using and/or taking it as an offensive term.  The real definition of it is simply someone of mixed racial heritage.  It’s been used even for those with Native American ancestry and less frequently with South Asian ancestry. In some areas it means someone with naturally light brown skin. In this day and age, Negro, Black and African American have even been taking in the same direction, as an offensive term.  As D doesn’t see it as offensive, and really in the area that we live in, it’s even rarely used, it’s a lot better than saying half-breed 😉 <<— That’s a quote from D. He said it when I brought up this topic, as I was curious. Simply, saying “mixed racial heritage” or “of both black and white ancestry” or any other thing is just too much of a mouthful.  And saying he’s brown as opposed to black is just… I dunno.  Makes me think of poo actually… And for those of you curious, his skin color is…hmm.  Picture the color of coffee somewhere between mocha and cappuccino.  That’s his skin color 🙂  Me?  I’m a fuckin’ pale ass white chick!  LOL

Truth be told, there’s so much PC bullshit anymore, it’s a wonder anybody says anything anymore.  Anything can be taken offensively, up to and including being called white.  I’ve yet to figure out how being called black could be offensive, but whatever.  lol Anyway, there’s a little more background for y’all 😉

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mulatto

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mulatto#United_States_and_Canada

Disclaimer — The only reason I’m directing this at solely black/african american terms is ‘cuz that’s directly what it’s dealing with.  Obviously I’m not racially bigoted as my man is black.  Well, he’s Mulatto.  😉

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2010 in about the jessie beth

 

4 responses to “a quick post on mulatto

  1. Shii

    January 31, 2010 at 1:20 AM

    Um, was this directed at me? I wasn’t saying you were racist or anything. I was pointing out that it is funny how in different places, the same thing can be offensive or not to different people…that it is just how it is interpreted. If you were offended, you could have just contacted me and I could have elaborated.

     
    • Jessie Beth

      January 31, 2010 at 8:38 AM

      No no no! I’m so thankful both you and the sub mission said something about it! Thank you for saying something.

      The post was for those out there who didn’t have the courage/courtesy to say anything, as those are the ones would would be / could be problematic.

      And you’re right. It is funny how just a few miles over, a word or phrase has taken on a completely different meaning.

      You know it’s funny. When I posted that I was thinking to myself that I needed to tell you that it wasn’t aimed at you at all, but naturally being how late it was when I posted it I totally spaced. I do apologize for not telling you.

       
      • Shii

        January 31, 2010 at 2:10 PM

        It’s completely fine; even if you were mad, that would have been your right, because t is your blog and I think everyone has a right to say whatever they want. I just didn’t want you to be upset over something that was not meant to be hurtful, just like I didn’t want your readers to be hurt by thinking you meant the term in a mean way. Thank you for taking the time to email me. I really appreciate it 🙂

         
  2. Jessie Beth

    January 31, 2010 at 2:13 PM

    You’re welcome 🙂 I really enjoy your blog and us commenting back and forth, so I wanted to make sure any mis-communication was taken care of 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
