RSS

First Week in Cali! :)

25 Jun
First Week in Cali! :)

Sometimes they amaze me...how they can be sitting in a kitchen drawer that at the time was serving as the garbage, and look all "It makes perfect, logical sense that I am in here. I belong here." lol

Part of me still doesn’t feel like it’s real, ya know?  Prolly due to the fact we have no furniture and are still eating off paper plates, part of me still feels like this is just an extended vacation.  (LOL For the first couple days after we got here, all the cats would keep looking at us with this face saying “alright, the funs over.  let’s go home now!” )

I am still waiting for my paycheck.  It’s on the way, just hasn’t gotten here yet.  It’ll be time to check the mail once I’m done writing this, wish me luck!!  If my check comes, Monday we are going to go to San Francisco (proper) and see the Golden Gate Bridge and all that 😀

Sometimes I have to remind myself that it’s only been a week, ya know?  I have this vision in my head of how it’s gonna be (and it’s actually a realistic vision LOL) and it’s so not that yet.  I need to remind myself to be patient, but it’s hard, especially with how much happier we both are here.

I was approached by another company similar to the one I work for now, to do basically the same thing for them that I do for my current employer, for the same pay.  I accepted the job offer and they are currently entering me into

That's basically all of our belongings right there, except bathroom stuff. And my feet and Hello Kitty flip-flops LOL 😉

their system.  If it works out, it’ll be doubling my pay.  Holy shit! Once all this goes through, probably around September or so, I’m gonna be sitting down with a Financial Advisor to help me out, figuring out how to manage my money, what to save for taxes (technically I’m self employed, hard to explain, not going there) and all that.   How much do y’all wanna bet he’s gonna try to get me into stocks?  Not gonna do it!  Considering doing bonds though.  Put a couple in for 5 years or so, use them plus all the interest for vacations or what not.

We want to go to Hawaii in a year or two, then Japan after that 😀 WOOT!

It’s weird.  I *know* I’m actually getting paid, right?  And it’s more than I’ve ever made before.  I know I can pay my bills.  I’ve never known that before.  I’ve always been poor, living from paycheck to paycheck (which we will be the first couple months, but not after that.) and at times deciding what gets paid, electric or car insurance, or groceries.  Not all.  I’ve *always* been behind on my bills.

LOL All but 1 of our cats has chilled on that ledge. Brave kitties...

It may not make any sense, but it actually scares me a bit to be on time with all my bills.  Only ‘cuz I never have before.  I know how to live with everything being late.  Never having been on time, or ahead, … it’s uncharted waters LOL And I’m, damn excited for it!

The very idea that I’m going to be able to save money, without compromising my ability to pay bills it’s out of this world for me.

Anyway, enough about money! O_O

There are a few things we’re having to get used to of course.  The weather is one.  We’ve been here 8 days now, and it hasn’t really rained (that we know of).  The time difference we are also having to adapt to, our families being 2 hours ahead, for me at least one friend 3 hours ahead LOL Not used to Pacific time, used to Central.

You know, I honestly thought we’d have a bigger accent difference, but it’s

Yellowstone Mountains

pretty negligible.

Anyway, it’s about time to check my mail.

Thanks for listening to my ramblings today!! LOL

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2010 in daily life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “First Week in Cali! :)

  1. redvinylkitty

    June 25, 2010 at 12:07 PM

    Yeah, I know what you mean about always being poor. When we owned a condo, that’s how life was, there was always this assessment or that assessment. Grr! We could never catch up to it all. But out here, not only are things cheaper, but we both are just making more money – me, because I can work more hours without the downstairs neighbor bugging me, and him because he got a huge pay raise.

    It’s weird for a bit, but you’ll get used to it. 🙂

     
    • Jessie Beth

      June 25, 2010 at 11:46 PM

      Damn skippy we will! And I’m glad things are better for you two too! 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
