RSS

With the waxing fertility of the Earth…

31 Mar

comes some waxing fertility in my life…. and NO, I am not pregnant!  LOL  Things are just looking up, that’s all. I just left a message with my disability worker for an update on my case; I will have to see a doctor (that they pay for) and I want to make sure I know when it is so I can make it to the appointment.  I need to get on disability so I can care for myself.

Happily though I do have a job, working from home.  It’s part time and just less than half what I was making before, but that’s okay with me.  Plus I’m getting paid via paypal, so I won’t have to worry about cashing a check!  It’s money!  Plus, we have been able to get turned around and tomorrow we will be paying rent on time for the first time in a long, long time!

My mom is visiting us in just over 1 week, and she will be staying for a full week, Tuesday to Tuesday. I’m mostly excited!  Also a little nervous; we still have a flea here and there (going to be doing a mega vacuum today or tomorrow to hopefully get the last few of them) and I don’t need her seeing one.  Also, I haven’t spent time like that with my mom for over 10 years LOL

So a couple days ago my mom and I were talking and she told me she had a surprise for me, so of course she told me.  She said that we (me and D) could choose 1 gift out of a list; it didn’t matter what we chose, but she would buy whichever we wanted.  Our choices were; a grill, a mattress, 2 bikes (1 for each of us) or a flat panel TV.  So I was all “holy shit!” and started thinking about it.  I told D and he didn’t want anything to do with it, as he’s very anti gift giving and receiving (bad experiences when he was young) so he said he didn’t care and that I could pick whatever.

So, I was talking with mom and I’ve decided that D will be getting a new bike.  So that’s his part of it.  And basically, so long as whatever I decide is about $350 or less, it can be whatever.  So, mine will be some gardening stuff for my balcony so I can start growing some veggies and then a few things for around the house, prolly some kitchen stuff, new silverware, maybe a bookshelf or something.  Oh! And file folders LOL  We got 2 large-ish file cabinets from D’s work when they move buildings, for free, but they’re wide so they need legal-sized file folders rather than standard sized, so my file folders don’t fit.

I told my mom yesterday what I was thinking for me and I could tell she was happy that I was going the route of necessities, as opposed to junk (not that a PS3 hadn’t flashed through my mind LOL) and just said to start making my list! I think she’s also excited to help me start an apartment garden.  My mom loves gardening so any chance to work in dirt like that she’s happy about.

It feels so good to have a lot of this stress off our shoulders.  We have gotten things straightened out, at least rent wise.  I need to get my food stamps straightened out but hopefully I did that yesterday. Won’t know ’till probably tomorrow though, as my worker is out of the office today, naturally.

D is having some trouble adjusting to the lack of stress.  For so long we’d been going full bore to get rent paid and now that that’s over he’s having trouble focusing and doesn’t really know what to do with his focus, ya know?  A lot of that, though, is D’s condition (he has schitzal-type personality disorder).

As for me, I’m just trying to get caught up on my reviewing, trying to get my website fucking working again (should have that taken care of within the next 6 weeks, wish it was sooner though) and getting used to working again as well as hopefully getting approved for disability.

Anyway, that’s all for now.  I do have more to say, but I need to write an article for work, so I need to budget my typing LOL

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in daily life

 

2 responses to “With the waxing fertility of the Earth…

  1. Jessica

    March 31, 2011 at 3:48 PM

    Aww, that’s so nice of your mom! I can’t wait to see your garden! I want to start growing my own herbs, but I have no idea where to start. You’ll have to pass on some tips. 😀

    I hope you get disability soon! That will be even more of a relief, since you know it’s steady income, and you can work on feeling healthy again.

    *Hugs!*

     
    • Jessie Beth

      April 2, 2011 at 8:18 AM

      *big hugs* Start with one or two herbs, oregano is really easy to grow, as well as lemon balm 🙂 I’ll make sure to take pictures and post them!! ^^

       

Leave a Reply

 
