RSS

Fibromyalgia

05 Apr

So many say that fibromyalgia is “all in your head.”  Those that believe it exists.  I challenge any of those who don’t to live a week in my shoes, or the shoes of any other who have to live with this…wonderful, condition.

Fibromyalgia is many things, strangely enough including that yes, it really is all in our heads…at least in that the pain is caused from synapses in our brains firing too much, which makes our nerve endings flare for no reason at all.  Along with chronic pain, every moment of every day, for no reason (i.e.- injury), it also causes a constant case of the “creepy crawlies.”

However, along with chronic pain fibromyalgia is so much more.  It’s really a collection of “symptoms”  which seem to be unrelated yet do not fall under any other category and are typically found together.  (Fibro is kind of the schitzal-type personality disorder of physical medical conditions.)  Fibro is depression, anxiety and chronic fatigue.  It’s stiffness, irritable bowl syndrome and a bad memory.

Not to mention simply having the knowledge that you have a chronic medical condition.  I am 29 years old and have had fibromyalgia my whole life.  I’ve been told that my trigger event for it was likely actually before I was born.

So many people who have physical issues can push themselves, and I can too, to a point.  I however have reached a point where I cannot push myself anymore.  I’m at the end of my rope.

My boyfriend has a couple chronic medical problems, but he can still push himself, so it’s hard for him to understand why I cannot, or do not anymore.  It makes things difficult.  But he’s patient with me, as I am with him.

I’ve been told that at only 29 I shouldn’t or cannot have an “old persons” disease.  Fibro isn’t limited by age.

Fibro is real.  Deal with it.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in about the jessie beth

 

3 responses to “Fibromyalgia

  1. Jessica

    April 5, 2011 at 7:15 PM

    *hugs* No matter how much someone thinks they know about an illness, (from reading, knowing someone who has it, even having it themselves) every body is different, and only YOU know how you have to feel every day. 😦 Does this have to do with you getting on disability? I hope it works out for you, truly. Thinking about you!

     
    • Jessie Beth

      April 5, 2011 at 7:43 PM

      No, not really. I just kind of needed to get it out, ya know? Just kinda vent.

      *hugs*

       
  2. Lada MacManus

    April 14, 2011 at 8:31 AM

    This post got lost in an old tab session of mine.
    My partner and I both have fibro dx’s. I’m lucky in that he can’t push past it either. Well, he can to help take care of me but not enough to do paid work.

    I went on benefits at 22. It’s hard because there is a real age bias among the general public.

    Sometimes dealing with a close friend or partner who has health concerns that are at a point they can still work without recognized major destruction to quality of life is harder than similar interactions with a healthy person. At least in my experience.
    .

     

Leave a Reply

 
